Alternative Gifts for Christmas

By Peggy Hahn

Every year I try to do better at making smart purchase as I shop for the people I love.  I am already planning to do most of my shopping through the Lutheran World Relief Catalog and to give each of my young adult children, (yes all 10!) a donation in their name to help a family in Peru through SEMBRANDO.

I want to encourage you to take a hard look at your own shopping plans and ask yourself “How can my faith and values show up in the gifts I give this season?”   This is one easy way to share our response to the Greatest Commandment in Luke 10:27.  Jesus said “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’

One thought on “Alternative Gifts for Christmas

  1. I truly admire all you hard work and passion in seeking the Lords guidance and being his hands.
    Peggy how about if we instead of/ or in addition to “promoting giving donations in other names” actually promoted “how we ask for donations in our names”? So the people who love us and want to give us a present can choose from a list of donations/gifts that give meaning to us. That can be from Lutheran World Relief, World Vision or maybe others. I have always struggled with some of the ways we have been promoting the idea of giving donations in others name instead of gifts. What if that is really not what the receiver of the gift have in their hearts, are ready for at the time? Yes we are sharing our values with them and hopefully over time that will have an impact. However I think there may be other and sometimes more effective ways to do just that. When we donate/share our possessions should we not just do it ourselves directly, as well as asking others to do it in our names, in lieu of a gift to us? I have no doubt Peggy that you do that, I am just saying that I think it would be cool if we promoted that angel more. Of course the idea would then be that we may be able to inspire others to ask the same back from us. For years it was a tradition in our rather big family that we each would give one gift to one family member. A couple of years back my husband and I asked for a donation in our names instead of a personal gift. Very quickly that spread and now this is primarily the way we all do it.

    Respectfully,

    Loa McNeese

Leave a Reply

